Call for Papers: EvoCOP 2015

Prof. Bartz-Beielstein is glad to be invited to the EvoCOP Programme Committee - here’s the call for papers:

The 15th European Conference on Evolutionary Computation in Combinatorial Optimisation

April 08-10, 2015
Copenhagen, Denmark

Submission Deadline: 15 November 2014,
Notification: 07 January 2015,
Camera-ready: 21 January 2015.

Part of Evo* 2015 ( including: EuroGP, EvoCOP, EvoMUSARTand EvoApplications

The 15th European Conference on Evolutionary Computation in Combinatorial Optimisation is a multidisciplinary conference that brings together researchers working on metaheuristics for solving difficult combinatorial optimization problems appearing in various industrial, economic, and scientific domains. Prominent examples of metaheuristics include: evolutionary algorithms, simulated annealing, tabu search, scatter search and path relinking, memetic algorithms, ant colony and bee colony optimization, particle swarm optimization, variable neighbourhood search, iterated local search, greedy randomized adaptive search procedures, estimation of distribution algorithms, and hyperheuristics. Successfully solved problems include scheduling, timetabling, network design, transportation and distribution problems, vehicle routing, travelling salesman, graph problems, satisfiability, energy optimization problems, packing problems, planning problems, and general mixed integer programming.

The EvoCOP 2015 conference will be held in the city of Copenhagen, Denmark. It will be held in conjunction with EuroGP (the 18th European Conference on Genetic Programming), EvoMUSART (13th European conference on evolutionary and biologically inspired music, sound, art and design) and EvoApplications (specialist events on a range of evolutionary computation topics and applications), in a joint event collectively known as Evo*.

Areas of Interest and Contributions

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Applications of metaheuristics to combinatorial optimization problems
Novel application domains for metaheuristic optimisation methods
Representation techniques
Neighborhoods and efficient algorithms for searching them
Variation operators for stochastic search methods
Constraint-handling techniques
Hybrid methods and hybridization techniques
Theoretical developments
Search space and landscape analyses
Comparisons between different (also exact) techniques
Metaheuristics and machine learning
Ant colony optimisation
Artificial immune systems
Genetic programming and Genetic algorithms
Scatter search
Particle swarm optimisation
Tabu search, iterated local search and variable neighborhood search
Memetic algorithms
Hyper-heuristics and autonomous search
Estimation of distribution algorithms
String processing
Scheduling and timetabling
Network design
Vehicle routing
Graph problems
Packing and cutting problems
Energy optimization problems
Practical solving of NP-hard problems
Mixed integer programming
Multi-objective optimisation
Grid computing
Combinatorial optimisation
Nature and Bio-inspired methods
Quantum computing and quantum annealing
Optimization in Cloud computing
Search-based software engineering

Publication Details

All accepted papers will be presented orally at the conference and printed in the proceedings published by Springer in the LNCS series (see LNCS volumes 2037, 2279, 2611, 3004, 3448, 3906, 4446, 4972, 5482, 6022, 6622, 7245 and 7832 for the previous proceedings).

Submission Details

Submissions must be original and not published elsewhere. The submissions will be peer reviewed by members of the program committee. The authors of accepted papers will have to improve their paper on the basis of the reviewers comments and will be asked to send a camera ready version of their manuscripts. At least one author of each accepted work has to register for the conference, attend the conference and present the work.

The reviewing process will be double-blind, please omit information about the authors in the submitted paper. Submit your manuscript in Springer LNCS format.

Page limit: 12 pages


EvoCOP Programme Chairs

  • Gabriela Ochoa
    University of Stirling, Scotland, UK
  • Francisco Chicano 
    University of Malaga, Spain

EvoCOP Programme Committee

  • Adnan Acan , Eastern Mediterranean University , Turkey
  • Enrique Alba , University of Malaga , Spain
  • Mehmet-Emin Aydin , University of Bedfordshire , UK
  • Ruibin Bai , University of Nottingham , UK
  • Matthieu Basseur , University of Angers , France
  • Thomas Bartz-Beielstein , Cologne University of Applied Sciences, Germany
  • Maria J. Blesa , Technical University of Catalonia , Spain
  • Christian Blum , IKERBASQUE – Basque Foundation for Science , Spain
  • Sandy Brownlee , University of Stirling , Scotland UK
  • Pedro Castillo , Universidad de Granada , Spain
  • Francisco Chicano , Universidad de Malaga , Spain
  • Carlos Coello-Coello , CINVESTAV-IPN , Mexico
  • Peter Cowling , University of York , UK
  • Karl Doerner , Johannes Kepler University Linz , Austria
  • Benjamin Doerr , LIX-Ecole Polytechnique , France
  • Bernd Freisleben , University of Marburg , Germany
  • Adrien Goeffon , University of Angers , France
  • Jens Gottlieb , SAP , Germany
  • Walter Gutjahr , University of Vienna , Austria
  • Jin-Kao Hao , University of Angers , France
  • Emma Hart , Edinburgh Napier University , Scotland UK
  • Richard Hartl , University of Vienna , Austria
  • Geir Hasle , SINTEF Applied Mathematics , Norway
  • Istvan Juhos , University of Szeged , Hungary
  • Graham Kendall , University of Nottingham , UK
  • Joshua Knowles , University of Manchester , UK
  • Mario Koeppen , Kyushu Institute of Technology , Japan
  • Frederic Lardeux , University of Angers , France
  • Rhyd Lewis , Cardiff University , UK
  • Arnaud Liefooghe , University Lille 1 , France
  • Jose Antonio Lozano , University of the Basque Country , Spain
  • Gabriel Luque , University of Malaga , Spain
  • Penousal Machado , University of Coimbra , Portugal
  • Jorge Maturana , Universidad Austral de Chile , Chile
  • Barry McCollum , Queen’s University Belfast , UK
  • David Meignan , University of Osnabruck , Germany
  • Juan Julian Merelo , University of Granada , Spain
  • Peter Merz , University of Applied Sciences and Arts Hannover , Germany
  • Martin Middendorf , University of Leipzig , Germany
  • Julian Molina , University of Malaga , Spain
  • Christine L. Mumford , Cardiff University , UK
  • Eric Monfroy , University of Nantes , France
  • Nysret Musliu , Vienna University of Technology , Austria
  • Gabriela Ochoa , University of Stirling , Scotland UK
  • Beatrice Ombuki-Berman , Brock University , Canada
  • Mario Pavone , University of Catania , Italy
  • Francisco J. Pereira , Universidade de Coimbra , Portugal
  • Jakob Puchinger , Austrian Institute of Technology , Austria
  • Günther Raidl , Vienna University of Technology , Austria
  • Marcus Randall , Bond University , Australia
  • Marc Reimann , University of Graz , Austria
  • Eduardo Rodriguez-Tello , Civerstav – Tamaulipas , Mexico
  • Peter Ross , Edinburgh Napier University , UK
  • Frederic Saubion , University of Angers , France
  • Marc Schoenauer , INRIA , France
  • Patrick Siarry , University of Paris 12 , France
  • Kevin Sim , Edinburgh Napier University , UK
  • Jim Smith , University of the West of England , UK
  • Giovanni Squillero , Politecnico di Torino , Italy
  • Thomas Stuetzle , Universite Libre de Bruxelles , Belgium
  • Andrew M. Sutton , Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena , Germany
  • El-ghazali Talbi , Universite des Sciences et Technologies de Lille , France
  • Renato Tinós , University of Sao Paulo , Brasil
  • Jano van Hemert , University of Edinburgh , UK
  • Nadarajen Veerapen , University of Stirling , Scotland UK
  • Sebastien Verel , Universite du Littoral Cote d’Opale , France
  • Takeshi Yamada , NTT Communication Science Laboratories , Kyoto-Japan